Dates and Nuts smoothie

Dates almond smoothieDates and nuts are a great snack. And I always have a large stock of them in my pantry. The Mr loves them to the extent that he has an addiction to them! Now that I am following a clean, anti-inflammatory diet, these are the only snacks that are ‘allowed’ for me.  No artificial anything and no sugar. There goes all the store bought snacks out the window.! Being dairy free and gluten free too means means no cookies or crackers either.!  Hence I am trying to be creative with the limited ingredients that are ‘allowed’ for me. Btw, my diet is very restrictive because of my RA so please do not get the impression that all the things that I avoid are necessarily bad for you too. I am following a hypoallergenic diet to get my RA , which is an auto immune disease, under control.

Anyways, back to the dates and nuts, I normally just munch them together. I have made date and coconut rolls and date nut truffles before too. Yes i am obsessed with them! But this week I thought why not make a smoothie out of them since something reminded me of the badaam (almond) milk shake that we get in restaurants in Mumbai.  So I just blended some dates along with some almonds and walnuts and voila, I had a creamy, rich and delicious smoothie.!  I added cardamom for flavor and that touch made this just perfect!  Having it chilled made me realize that this could be a great dessert option too! Yum!

Linking to Throwback Thursday and Fiesta Friday. The co-hosts this week at FF are  Ahila @ A Taste of Sri Lankan Cuisine and Diann @ Of Goats and Greens

Dates and Nuts smoothie

  • Servings: makes 1 serving
  • Time: about 20 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

4 dates(pits removed) (add 5 if you like it sweeter)

10-12 almonds

5-6 walnuts

1 cup warm water

1/4 tsp cardamom powder(elaichi powder)

Method:

Soak the almonds in hot water for about 15 minutes. Then peel the skin off. Add the dates, the peeled almonds and the walnuts to a food processor and add the water and blend to a smooth puree. Sprinkle with cardamom powder, stir with a spoon to blend and serve chilled.

Notes:

I use warm water to blend since it makes it easier to blend the nuts and then chill the smoothie in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes before serving.

Vegan milk shake

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Ahila says:

    That’s a really healthy, sugar-free smoothie, Indu. Will try it out sometime for my family. Happy Fiesta! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indu says:

      Yes Ahila this is wonderful! Today I added dried figs too and it tasted even better! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello. This looks tasty 🙂 Sorry that you’re finding your diet restrictive. .. but I often make (& post) cookies & crackers (I’m dairy free, egg free, gluten free, refined sugar free). It’s interesting that you’ve made this smoothie with water not milk yet it still looks creamy – have you tried it with a sugar free plant based milk instead?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indu says:

      I will need to check your blog then! yeah the smoothie comes out creamy because of the almonds…its almost like using home made almond milk. I have become used to my new diet – it is restrictive because it is more than just gluten,dairy and sugar free. My naturopath is treating me for RA and hence a lot of other things which are healthy for normal folks like lentils,beans and night shades etc are also not permitted for me. I am hoping that will make a difference to my health since I definitely do not want to go back to taking medicines which almost killed me! thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I LOVE dates and almost anything with dates in it! I made a date shake not too long ago – but this is such a healhty and lovely recipe! Thanks for sharing on Throwback Thursday!

    Mollie

    Like

  4. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

    Like

  5. Nancy says:

    Looks delicious, Indu. I/m currently obsessed with dates, so this sounds right up my alley! I hope you get your RA under control real soon. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indu says:

      ha ha you sound like me! Dates are my only source of sweetness currently and I love them 🙂 thanks for your wishes – I hope so too that this diet will help me get it under control. I had a lot of problems with medications and didn’t do well at all unfortunately. But i am hopeful about the diet working for me. Appreciate your wishes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

